6226 3632Clinics

Food Pyramid

Six food types form the fundamentals for providing required amounts of carbohydrate, protein, fat, vitamins, and minerals in a good healthy diet. The Food Pyramid is a guide for selecting the proportions of these six food types.

Following he Food Pyramid will not provide the body with adequate amounts of water to prevent dehydration. Drinking additional fluids is required.

High carbohydrate foods make up the largest component of the Food Pyramid guide include grains-legumes, fruits, and vegetables.


Carbohydrate-rich food



  • Rice

  • Breads

  • Cereals

  • Pasta

  • Low fat crackers


  • Dried beans

  • Dried peas

  • Red beans

  • Lentils

  • Black eyed peas

High protein foods are included in smaller amounts in the Food Pyramid. These food consists of lean cuts of meat, including beef, chicken, clams, eggs, fish, lamb, oysters, pork, turkey, or veal, and low fat milk products.

High protein food


Lean cuts of meat

  • Round tip

  • Top loin

  • Top round

  • Eye of round

  • Tenderloin

  • Top sirloin

  • Ground meat with less than 10% fat

  • Skinless poultry

Low fat milk products

  • Skim or 1% milk and yoghurt or cheese made with these kinds of milk

Refined fats-sweets are included in small amounts at the tip of the Food Pyramid. Nuts and seeds are also included in this category because they are high in fat, but they also contain some protein and carbohydrate.


Source: flicker orangeacid

Recent Videos

Tone Up With Sanctband Singapore: Resistive Tubing Exercise
Tone Up With Sanctband Singapore: Mini Gym Ball Exercises
Tone Up With Sanctband Singapore: Resistive Exercise Band
Have you tried Facilitated Stretch Therapy?
The Effects of Mobile Devices – The Better Way To Use Your Phone
The Effects of Mobile Devices on Posture
resistive tubing
mini gym ball exercises
resistance band
Have you tried Facilitated Stretch Therapy?

You can easily request for a physiotherapy or fitness appointment through any of the 3 convenient ways below with your preferred date, time and clinic location. Our staff will be happy to help allocate you to the first available appointment slot that best fits your convenience.

via Telephone

Call our central-line at
+65 6226 3632

via Email or Online Form

Email your preferred physiotherapy appointment slot to enquiry@coreconcepts.com.sg or

Core Concepts